Hybrid: Valentine Treat Boxes

HybridValentineBoxes-web

My kiddos did this for friends last year and it was a big hit. I bought the Standing Pillow Box template from Kelleigh Ratzlaff Designs over at The Digichick. I think it’s typically used with the Silhouette cutter, but she’s included png and pdf files as well so it can be used by everyone. I don’t have a cutter like that so I just used the pngs.

This year, I used Robyn Meierotto’s brand new kit called Hugs & Kisses. Here’s a LINK to the full kit – patterned papers and elements. The cardstock is sold separately. CUTE! And so perfect for hybrid projects.

P&Co-RobynMeierotto-Hugs&Kisses-Patterns

P&Co-RobynMeierotto-TakeStock-Hugs&Kisses

P&Co-RobynMeierotto-Hugs&Kisses-Elements

Last year, I wasn’t at all familiar with the template so I just clipped one paper to the whole thing, printed, assembled, and then tried to figure out how to do the tag on the front. This year, I mixed it up with different papers on the sides and front/back. I also created the tags digitally right on the template and then pulled them onto a separate page to print.

I think this one is my favorite! The front and back are blue. The top, bottom, and sides are the hexagon pattern. I love how the front turned out!

2013_2_1_1

I used the hexagon clipping mask from one of Robyn’s Cut.It.Out. kits. I gave each hexagon a white mat and then used the blue straight stitch from the Hugs & Kisses elements to go around each shape. I added the little cut-out heart to the bottom hexagon, but I thought the box would look cute with a little splatter. I pulled the four hexagon shapes onto a separate page to print. I printed out the box with the splatter already on it. I cut out the hexagon shapes and added them using some pop dots.

Last year, we filled them with some salt water taffy. I think each box held 7 or 8 pieces. It was perfect.

Leave a Reply

