Hybrid Tutorial: Summer Bucket List

This is a tutorial I wrote up for Deena Rutter’s blog, but I thought I would share it here too. It’s been so much fun for our family every year!

So this is our Summer Bucket List. It’s a list of all the stuff our family wants to do before school starts again in the fall. It was a just a single sheet of paper the first year we did it, but it’s since evolved into a photo diary of sorts that now hangs on our wall all summer long. The only thing we’ve really done on this board so far is the water balloons. I printed off a couple of photos from last year so that you’d be able to better understand how this will look once it’s all filled in.

SummerBucketList-web

Supplies:

–       Digital scrapbooking kits – I used mostly Pura Vida, but pulled in bits and pieces from some of Deena’s other kits: D-Cuts: Basic Shapes; Count on Me; Sail On; Scenic Route.

–       White cardstock

–       Photo-editing program – like PS or PSE

–       1 large corkboard

–       Spray paint (optional)

–       Small clothespins

–       Tacks

–       Hot glue gun and glue sticks

Instructions

1. Totally optional: I spray painted the frame of the corkboard brown to match the Pura Vida paper. I used painter’s tape to hold down some butcher paper on the actual corkboard part before I sprayed the frame. It protected the cork from getting sprayed.

2. After the paint dried, I printed off some of the blue-striped paper and cut it into 1/2” strips. I adhered the strips all the way around the frame.

2013_6_3_1

3. Next, I used hot glue to attach a tack to each of my clothespins.

2013_6_3_2

4. In PSE, I designed a small tag for each of our bucket list items. I printed these, cut them out, and then chalked around the edges.

2013_6_3_3

5. I used a very small amount of hot glue to attach each tag to a clothespin.

2013_6_3_4

6. I arranged the clothespins on the corkboard, leaving enough room between them for our 3×3 photos.

2013_6_3_5

7. Now all that’s left is to hang it up! We add a photo for each bucket list item as a way to visually cross it off.

2013_6_3_6

Now go make some fun summer memories!

Leave a Reply

